Home » About us » A little about me

A little about me

A little about me the Wannabe Retiree!

I did not and do not come from money. I was a Navy brat until my teenage years. Those of you that have grown up in the military may know that money and military are rarely used in the same sentence unless it is referring to the lack of money. Many nights were spent listening to the parents argue about bills and not having any money. I won’t get into a sob story about it. I know many more people had it worse.

I had to get my GED at age 16 because of some circumstances that prevented the traditional route of getting a diploma. I have been working full time since the age of 16 except for a five month period of unemployment. I started at Subway as a sandwich artist for $4.25/hour! I had many jobs in my youth and sometimes two full time jobs at a time. At the age of 18 I leased a brand new car. How could I not. The payment was only $234 dollars/month. I mean that was cheaper than my insurance rate of $300/month for full coverage in the great state of Arizona (How stupid is that and how stupid was I?) Before I turned 19, I decided to join the U.S. Airforce. I started out at a whole $800/month. Of course the first thing I did when I finished with basic training and technical school was to buy a stereo system for my car. Credit? No problem! I had excellent credit. Let’s go ahead and finance the $2,500 stereo at 22% interest on my Circuit City credit card. It probably only took me two years to pay that off.

I eventually got married at the ripe old age of 20. I left the military after only a few years and got a job in an aluminum extrusion/anodizing factory. I was finally making $7.80/hour working 12 hour graveyard shifts at least 4 days a week but usually more. I took classes at a university hoping to get a computer science degree but eventually stopped because I hated it, but not before I received my associates degree in general studies. Woo hoo! I was well on my way to financial freedom! Sarcasm aside, this was an accomplishment and it has helped me in my career, because any degree is better than no degree. Anyone that furthers their education to reach their dreams is usually on the right path. We rented a crap apartment during this time and eventually saved up enough money for a down payment on a house. The second item on the American dream/American nightmare checklist was finally checked off.

During my factory days(dark days) at the age of 22, I started a 401k, contributing a whopping 6% of my paycheck. When I quit, I had about $6,000 in my 401k to show after 5 years in that shit hole (This was right after the dot com bubble bursting). I was getting divorced and “luckily” kept the house and after a 5 month hiatus from work I landed a job as a research and development technician for $11.00/hour. I put a whole 8% of my paycheck into my new 401k. Life was pretty good. I eventually sold my house for a profit and lived with a friend on the cheap. During this time I also had a son and helped support him. I tried going to the university to study art but eventually had to drop out after a year and a half. I moved up in the company I worked for and stayed there for almost 6 years until a better opportunity came. I was 31 and was now going to be making about $40,000/year! I really thought that my life was coming together. I rolled over my 401k to my new Vanguard 401k plan and had about $34,000.

I have been at my current job for the past nine years. During that time I got married again to the Mrs. Wannabe Retiree and we have a total of two kids. I bought a town home and eventually started renting it out after buying another house. My family and I now live in a single family home that is probably bigger than what we need but suits our needs/wants for now. My raises and promotions increased pretty steadily because I busted my ass to show that even though I did not have a degree, I knew what the hell I was doing. My contributions to my 401k fluctuated from around 8% to 13% of my pay until I got serious about early retirement. Now I contribute close to the max of $18,000 a year to my 401k. I dabble in the company stock and sell it when I get a bit of profit to help fund vacations and other life events. I was putting money into a Roth IRA then stopped so that I can start contributing to a taxable account.

I wanted to write a little about myself, my education level (or lack thereof), and work history for a couple of reasons. First, I want to hold myself accountable for my goals and how I plan to achieve them. Second, I hope that readers(hopefully there will be readers) will find some similarity in their situation and have hope and a desire to start their own journey. Life constantly changes. Our way of living, what is important to us, what we value, how we see our life is constantly being challenged and evolving. The only person responsible for how we end up is ourselves. Ok, enough with the self help babbling. If people are going to read this blog then I just thought it would help to have a little background on the blogger.


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other subscribers